The Piber Castle and its history
The baroque castle of Piber was originally erected as an abbey between 1696 and 1716 by the Benedictine monks (an estate of St. Lambrecht). It boasts a square layout and four corner risalits. Its marvellous three-storey arcade courtyard is modelled on the style of master builder Domenico Sciassia. The building was secularised in 1796 and placed under military stewardship. In 1798, work finally started on establishing the stud, in which the primary task was to supply as many remounts (young horses for military service) to the army as possible.
Rooms with magnificent stucco ceilings are to be found on the first floor of the south wing ‒ sumptuous ceremonial rooms that can today be hired out for seminars, exhibitions and festive events. The inner courtyard and arcade are equally suitable for concerts and other such occasions, providing an exceptional backdrop with wonderful acoustics. Civil marriages and wedding receptions are also held at Piber Castle on request.
Piber Castle housed four institutions under one roof for many a year: the stud management, the presbytery, a public primary school and military administration. Stud management remains at the Castle; the stud library containing the original Lipizzaner stud books is situated on the second floor and is not open to visitors.
The stud management, plus the marketing and tourist office, are all on the ground floor. Apartments available for hire are situated on the first and second floors.
A Latin inscription survives just above the main door to the Castle, which roughly translates as: “This building was built by Franciscus, expanded and perfected by Antonius, and embellished by Kilianus.” These names refer to former abbots of St. Lambrecht, who ministered at Piber.
+43 3144 33 23